Happy New Year!

A very Happy New Year to you all!  Thank you to everyone who has supported Sundara Yoga’s small beginnings in West Ryde in 2013.  I’m looking forward to continuing to provide a space for practice each week.

First up, some housekeeping, classes are back on as normal starting next Monday 6 January.  Please check the class times and locations here.  I look forward to seeing you there.


breathe

With the new year our focus is turned to reflecting on the past year and looking at what we might like to achieve more of, habits that we might like to change, what qualities we wish to cultivate and pay more attention to in the coming year.

I recently read about someone who rather than choosing to make a list of resolutions for the new year, they chose just one word that resounded with them and reflected what they might like to cultivate in many aspects of their lives.  I love this idea.  So rather than giving yourself the pressure of reaching a dozen goals, reflecting on one small word through the year might just make sustainable and lasting change achievable.

There are many words that might tie in well with how yoga fits into your life in the coming year.  Some words might be Breathe, Attention, Presence, Moment, Release, Surrender, Strength.  I could go on.

As a student and practitioner of yoga, a busy mother and wife, a small business owner my attention is often needed in several places seemingly at the same time.  As a yoga practitioner, focus is something that I am always trying to cultivate and I work towards having this spill over into my everyday life.  So for me, I have chosen Focus as my word.

What is your word?

Leave a comment